Does Bhagavat Gita Encourage Casteism?

Living with Awareness Series Part I


What does Krishna meant when he said, “Arjuna, you are a Kshatriya (warrior caste) and therefore your duty is to fight”. Do this Krishna’s words indicate that he believed in the caste system? (In ancient India there were four main castes – Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vysya and Sudra)

Naran S. Balakumar believes Krishna meant something else. Read this post to know the insights of Naran on this topic.

Different Castes in place

The beauty of human being is that a person can play different roles in life. The mind is a multi-faceted energy field. It thinks and analyses in parts.

When one part of the mind discusses, then it is the policy-maker within. The part of the mind that takes a decision after deep analysis based on darma, justice and fairness – rights and wrongs, is the Brahminical part. For some, it is the dominant part. The mind can take a decision in many ways, based on circumstances and environment. If one takes the decision based on darma, we are activating the Brahminical part of the mind. We can call that part as the analytical or the logical part.

If you base the decision on anger and violence, you are activating the Kshatriya part of the mind. It is nothing but the military part (protection by fighting).

If you take the decision based on adjustments and compromises, you are activating the Vysya part (Vysya – trader).

If you cannot take a decision, and you depend on others (considered by us as superiors) for our decision, you are activating your Sudra part (submissive, indecisive part).

Thus, Caste is nothing but playing different roles in our lives.

Initiating Castes

How you are activating these parts? It is due to influence by desires coming out of Ego and Pride.  

Desire to control belongs to Brahminical mind and Kshatriya mind. For the Brahminical part, ego is more dominant and for the Kshatriya part, pride is dominant. Desire for approval, appreciation or recognition is the Vysya part. Desire to feel more secured is there in all four parts. However, this is more in the Sudra part.

 If a person predominantly takes a decision activating only one part, then that part of the mind becomes his personality. This is how Casteism was born. Many were responsible for bringing in castes in Indian society.

While walking on the path of healing let us not drag ourselves into confusion by thinking about caste, race and religion. They are aberrations of the society and let us ignore them.

Next Post on Living with Awareness Series Part II:

Does Bhagavat Gita Promote Violence?

About Elsol

Naran balakumar is a herbalist practising bach flower therapy for the last 21 years. Naran is a Reiki master teacher.

Posted on April 24, 2009, in RULE THE MIND and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Friends,

    This is wrt to the Part 2 of the series – “Does Bhagavat Gita Promote Violence?”

    Instead of speculating on this subject, lets please read “Bhagavad Gita – AS IT IS” from His Divine Grace AC Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada. This is not a subject where we can give our own interpertation. Spiritual subject is something which needs to be accepted As It Is – in a Descending order. Just like a Axiom, we need take it and apply. We just can’t go on to find the background reason by trail and error method – this process of learning is called Ascending process. We are not in a situation to learn by trail and error, coz the subject matter is just above our material perception.

    Krishna clearly says in Bhagavad Gita that we can not engage in Violence for our sense gratification.

  2. In the Vedic system, society has 4 natural grouping. The brahmanas, or thouughtful group, instruct and advise. The Ksatriyas, or dynamic group, protect and organize. Then the vaisyas, or mercantile group, look after the land and cows and see to food production. And the sudras, or laboring group, assist the other groups.

  3. “The Map is not the Territory.” people interpret any information they receive in their own unique way. This is the language of the brain which is pre-programmed (NLP) We are now over 6 billion people on this planet, and each one of us has a unique values, beliefs, capabilities, and behaviours, which influence the type of OUR COMMUNICATION. By respecting other people’s maps (views), we can move towards improving our communication skills and becoming our greater self. Coming back to the posting, it is the same intuition or divine intelligence which is operating through is operating through all. Any absolute truth, if it is filtered through a human brain, becomes partial. Whatever is said is his view and not absolute truth. The original Bhagavat Gita, the moment it enters the brain of any individual, is diluted and it is his view. In this world, anybody has freedom to express his views on Divine sermon. If so and so has written a book on the Divine sermon, anybody can read it. But one should never be inflexible in his views. A closed view is intolerance. No single view can give a full picture of Bhagavat Gita. That is why it is a divine sermon. Naran has expressed his view. He has neither imposed his view on any view, nor preventing anybody reading any book. Vyasa and Sanjaya are the only two persons, who did not filter Gita through their brains. They just expressed the full sermon verbatim. Flexibility and open mind will always make one move forward not only mentally and emotionally but also spiritually. Inquiring (turning the mind inward) is also a spiritual method, which leads to self-actualisation. Any discussion should direct us to the soul qualities.

  4. Really when someone doesn’t be aware of after that its up to
    other people that they will assist, so here it

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: